Even Beyonce has 24-hours in her day…

Hello!

How’s your week going? Busy? Relaxing?

I finally began my new job at Elysian Brewery, up in Capitol Hill. I cannot believe that I am saying this, but it feels good to be back to serving. I hate to say that I have sold my soul to the service industry, but at this point in time, I have. I have thoroughly enjoyed chatting with locals and tourists, learning new beer and liquor choices, and meeting new coworkers. Someday I’ll step down from serving…but for now, I’ll stick with it. Does anyone else feel this way or been in this boat in the past?

Since I currently live in the city, I have to drive to work rather than bike or walk. It is frustrating, but I have tried to make the best out of it. My commute requires me to leave 30 to 45 minutes before work starts, depending on traffic. I decided to look into podcasts. I have somewhat used the podcast feature on my phone, but am now fully immersed in scrolling to find podcasts that interest me. Currently I am listening to The Way Family Podcast. The Way family resides in California, posting a new podcast once a week. They are a mid-20s couple, with a son, and new daughter on the way. Their topics cover anything from money, time management, adventuring, parenting, faith, and even arguments (yesterday’s topic). They are around 45 minutes to an hour long, making it perfect for my commute to and from work. My post today has been inspired by The Way Family Podcast, speaking on money savings and time management. I will be covering the latter…time management.

I wrote a post about nine months ago on monotasking, the how-to’s of completing one task at a time. I think that monotasking is important…in some sense. However I also believe that multitasking can work, especially on tasks that are productive. Examples of tasks that are not productive include: working while watching tv, talking on the phone while having the tv on mute, and texting and driving. Examples of tasks that are productive (and that I actively participate in) include: running and listening to music, cooking and watching tv, or talking on the phone and cleaning.

I have made a list of ways to make sure that you are present, intentional, and using our time wisely throughout your day/week: monotasking, multitasking, and everything in between.

  1. Make a to-do list: I used to make a to-do list at the beginning of the day. Since moving I began making a list for the week. This has allowed me to spread out my week, continue adding to the list, and adjust my days here and there to evenly distribute the tasks. I also visualize my lists differently. Having one list per day is stressful, especially if you cannot complete all of the tasks throughout the day. With my week long list, I can cross off tasks, move others to a following day, and time manage. It also allows me to take one full day off a week!
  2. Make a to-quit list: What sort of non-essential activities should you cut out each week? I have found that this allows me to create more time to complete my to-do list. This was a recommendation that the Way’s discussed during their podcast. Over the past couple days, I have been going back and forth with myself with what this means. What should go on my to-quit list?
    First off, I want to quit saying “yes” all of the time. I need to learn how to say “no” to myself and to others (say no to picking up a shift at work, going for a drink when I need to finish my list of to-do’s or save money, and no to Netflix when it is oh so tempting to click “yes I am still watching”, but I need sleep). When you say no, it creates more time to do the essentials: work, staying active, sleeping, and crossing items off of your to-do list. When you don’t say no, the items on the to-do list begin to stack up, you are consistently worrying about what you need to complete which distracts you and doesn’t allow you to be present in the situation. When you are able to say yes, you are there, present, and your mind is set on the individuals you are spending time with.
  3. Do it now!: I am so, so good at putting tasks off. Currently, I can see my laundry, hanging on the line, staring at me. It has been there for three or four days. It is the easiest task to complete, yet I still have put it off.
    On the other hand, I saw that I needed an oil change two days ago, completed it today, and went to Starbucks, drank some tea, and caught up on my reading. Adulting!
    Other tasks to do now: the dishes, make your bed (studies show that those that make their bed every day are better at keeping up with a budget and spending their money wisely. Weird?), fold your laundry, go for a run, the list goes on.  You know what you are good at putting off. I definitely know what I’m good at putting off (see the list above). Just get it done. I also religiously use the “reminders” app in my phone. We all have a zillion things on our mind every day, so it is easy to forget the priorities. Write them in your phone. Utilize the apps.
  4. Time-saving: I define “time-saving” as making goals. This can be a goal with yourself or with a partner or a friend. When do you have time off? Is it in the evening or in the morning or on the weekend?
    Self – set aside time in the morning for a quiet time and to relax in the quietness of the day (and enjoy a cup of coffee). Set aside time in your evening to relax. Watch Netflix or read a good book. I have recently become obsessed with Liane Moriarty. She wrote Big Little Lies and has a few other juicy, dramatic books out. Please do yourself a favor and check her out! Anyways, I love to set aside space in my day to read.
    A partner or friend – When do you both have time off? When I was living in Bozeman, my sister and I used to text each other our schedule for particular days. When we found a one to two hour gap where we were both free, we would set that aside to talk on the phone. We are all busy and have schedules. But it is SO great when you find time when another individual has free time. Be intentional and be present with that time. Make sure your work is complete, turn the phone on silent, and find something fun to do! A drink, a run, a walk, go for a drive, drink a cup of coffee, or go to a movie. I value my time with my friends and family so much. I know I am busy and like to constantly move a million miles an hour…so finding time to relax is necessary and incredibly valuable.
  5. Exercise your brain: We are immersed in a culture driven by technology. Use technology to benefit exercising your brain – podcasts, documentaries, online articles, or the news. I have also been doing Sudoku as much as possible. I love Sudoku. I recently read that Sudoku has been endorsed as a “brain game”. The game claims to bring you a sense of order and calmness, as well as keep your brain healthy by exercising your problem solving skills.

This is a working progress. Time management is challenging. We are all in a hurry, while shoving far too much in our day. We claim that we need more than 24 hours to complete our long to-do lists, but also sleep. This wraps me back around to my title. “Even Beyonce has 24 hours in her day…” How talented is Queen B?! From “Single Ladies” to “Partition” and then to her most recent album, Lemonade. She is incredibly talented and successful, raising a family of THREE now, and continually coming out with something new. Beyonce has just as many hours in her day as we do. We can do it – we can be successful in the seasons we are in. We can keep slowly moving (life is a walk, not a sprint) towards our goals. The key is to managing our time well, but also taking time to rest every so often.

Also….isn’t that sign on my featured image the truth?! I found that in a coffee shop in Dillon, Montana when shopping the Patagonia Outlet with my mom. Every day should start with coffee and a quiet time. EVERY DAY.

That’s it. Off to the next item on my to-do list. I appreciate you reading my thoughts and keeping up with my rants. You all rock. Lastly, check out my list of recommendations (inspired by the Way family) below.

grace, grace

-M

Recommendations:
Spotify Playlist “Sunshowers” (great list for the summer days!)
Trader Joe’s Meyer Lemon Cake (in a box, easy, so so good…especially with a cup of coffee)
SHAMELESS! Season 7 is now out and available on Netflix! (this show is definitely not for everyone, but I love it)

Leave a Reply

