seattle, wa.

Well, I have officially lived in Seattle for one week. Whew. Made it. Survived. The big city has not gotten the best of me yet. It got close (seriously), but I am still here!

As much as I would like to be okay with change, I must admit that I have a tough time. Not only is Seattle a completely new place (new city and state), it’s also a big city, new climate, there’s traffic, and more people. After driving through the beautiful Snoqualmie Pass, I typed the directions to my sister’s house in my phone. Thirty-six minutes away. I was beyond excited, while simultaneously putting the “I have to drive through 5 o’clock traffic” out of my mind. As I got into the city, I soon realized that my heart was beating probably twice as fast as it typically should. I was so nervous! People are whizzing around me, as I am trying to accelerate poor, exhausted Lucci, who has just driven 650+ miles, with two bikes on the top of her, and a few extra pounds of junk in her trunk. Meanwhile I am also trying to keep Jonny and Berry the suburban in eyesight. We managed to get to my sister (in 36 minutes), with minor hiccups.

This was not a good start to my excitement of a new home! I was not keen on driving anywhere. Alas, my sister and I agreed that I would drive the following day. Our goal was to make it to Capitol Hill, where I had an interview at Elysian Brewing. She and Jonny were very patient with my driving, even when we found it impossible to find parking. The week continued to fill itself up with new driving experiences, stop-and-go traffic, occasions where I had to reteach myself how to parallel park, a few upseting moments, laughs, good beer, amazing food, and my discovery of a new coffee shop close to home. I am very grateful for my sister and her knowledge of the city, as well as her patience with my newness of the city. I am incredibly thankful for Jonny. He followed me out for my first week, helping me through the slow transition into city life. He put up with my upset moments, indecisiveness, and helped me discover new, exciting places within Seattle.

Alright. Here’s a list of things I have discovered in the previous week:

  1. What did we do before smart phones?! Seriously though…I have LITERALLY used mine every single day since moving to Seattle. I am not talking about the use of Facebook, Instagram, and Snapchat (though I have used all three). I am talking about Google Maps. Holy smokes, thank the technology gods for creating the app that helps me get from point A to point B. It even tells me where traffic is and if it’s “yellow zone” traffic or the dreaded “red zone” traffic. That is a brand new feature to me, considering Bozeman did not even hit any of those zones. I have also come within minutes of the calculated time. Eighteen minute drives are exactly eighteen minutes, regardless of red lights or how much traffic you meet up with along the way.
  2. Parking sucks. You either pay for parking (2-4 hours max) or you find free parking in a nice little neighborhood. Either one is impossible (I swear). The 2-4 hour parking can cost you an arm and a leg, but the free neighborhood parking is ALWAYS full. You go in thousands of circles until you are beyond frustrated. I have found every excuse in the book to not drive downtown or to Capitol Hill, in order to not have to find parking. Maybe I will just walk everywhere or use this mode of transportation. That works, right?
  3. Traffic teaches patience and punctuality. I am a patient person, so traffic does not bother me. I will wait at a light and sit in stop-and-go traffic. I struggle with the latter. I am sometimes super punctual, but more often, I am so late! Traffic has taught me that I need to leave early (even two minutes earlier than the calculated time on Google Maps), just to make sure I am on time to an event or meeting or work.
  4. It is okay to be nervous. Like I previously said, I am not good with change. I find a place I am comfortable in and I never move. My way of life turns into a habit, and when the slightest thing steps in the way of that habit, my entire attitude changes. I become moody, rude, and unpleasant to be around. But, after this week, I have realized that it is okay to be nervous and show a little bit of weakness. Everyone understands and the people around me can sympathize with the new adjustments.
  5. Get out and explore. Like I mentioned above, I get sucked into a place. I like to describe Bozeman as a black hole. The city is nestled in the beautiful Gallatin Valley, surround on all sides by mountain ranges. We are safe, protected, and happy in Bozeman. Transportation is easy in Bozeman. You walk, ride a bike, or drive a few miles. Crime rate is little, to non existent. Bozeman is awesome! I do dearly miss it, but it is good to experience something new and different. There are benefits to moving to a city, such as Seattle. It is greener here (thanks to the rain), a person can bike close to year round, culture exists here, there’s always a new event or a new shop opening up, the job market is booming, and of course, I am close to my brother and sister.

I do not think that the newness of the city will pass for a while. I am infatuated with the beauty of Mount Rainier, the cityscape, the water, and the fresh plant life that surrounds me on my walk to the market or coffee shop. I am excited to see what Seattle has to offer and fully grasp the purpose behind why I felt called to the city.

Thank you to each person that supported me in my move. Thank you for your prayers, your hugs, your generosity, and for the many individuals that have reached out to me in the past week. You’re love has not gone unnoticed.

grace, grace

-M

3 thoughts on “seattle, wa.

  1. Welcome to the city! Traffic admittedly SUCKS out here, but there are so many other things to enjoy that make it worthwhile. This is a pretty chilly spring and after being here 13 years is even driving me crazy… so I have been escaping to Eastern Washington, A LOT! The weather is consistently 10+ degrees warmer there if you need a ray of sunshine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

