“Winter is coming.”

Friends,

Hello and happy almost Halloween! Hope you all have some fun (responsible) plans to get out and enjoy the spooky holiday. My plans you ask? Well, I have the opportunity to host a preschool Halloween party through work…rough life, right? What am I dressing up as? Minnie Mouse of course! I have the ears, the red lipstick, and the tutu is in the making. I only need yellow shoes…so if any of you have cute yellow shoes, hook a girl up!

Alright. So last week was a tough one. I was in a pretty bad funk…worse than any funk I have ever been in. As a warning, this post may get a little into my personal life, but because I trust and respect and appreciate all of my readers, I want to get a little vulnerable with you.

I get in funks every so often…typically every three to four months, lasting between 5 to 10 days or so. I never really know what I get in a funk about, until I write it out, talk it out, cry it out, and pray about it. In the past, they have occurred because of big changes (i.e. moving, job change, break-ups), current situations (i.e. an issue at work, fights with family or friends, worrying about the future, worrying about family members), or dumb things (i.e. the season change, money, turning 26 and having to grow up). I wasn’t quite sure last week what my funk was all about, but I sought out people that I trust know me the best and talked my way through everything. The end result…I’m in a difficult season of my life.

I feel stuck in the place I’m in…26 years old and I have three jobs that have no future career in them. I live in my hometown, after swearing about five years ago that I would never move back here. I make ends meet every month by working the 3 jobs, trying to get between 45 and 55 hours per week (which is nearly impossible in the slow seasons). I have a college degree and am not using this. Anyone with me on this one?

Okay…this post is not for me to rant about my funk or vent to you about all these things that I worry about. This is a post telling you that I have made a 180 degree turn since last week. My whole idea behind blogging, was to get my thoughts on a site, where people would read, and maybe take into consideration what I am saying. I wanted to reach out to the 20-35 year old generation. We are all in a unique season of our lives, trying to make ends meet, trying to work up into the professional world, some trying to raise a family, some still in college, some trying to decide if they should go back to school, and some (like me) trying to figure out what the heck we want to do with our lives.

Here is what I have come up with in the past three or four days.

  1. I am in a special season of my life. The best part about a season is that it NEVER lasts. To my friends that live in Montana or Colorado…you know this better than anyone. Spring is rainy, summer is warm (sometimes hot), fall is cool and rainy, winter is frigid but beautiful. We always have something to look forward to each month with the change of season. Jobs, careers, life…it’s the same. After college, I thought life was over when I moved back to Bozeman. You can ask my mom and dad. I cried so much in that year after moving back. But, I got an awesome job at The Round House Ski and Sports Center as a sales associate, later moving up into a manager position. I met all of my closest Bozeman friends, made some INCREDIBLE connections with ski and bike reps, got into mountain biking, and reconnected with the beautiful Bozeman outdoors. I later transitioned into my current situation; working for my dad as his secretary, working as a recreation leader for Parks and Recreation, and a server at the new taproom.There are so many incredible things that have come from these jobs…one being that I have gotten a lot closer to my dad through working for him and seeing what he does everyday.
    Now, obviously I’m not 100% content in this current situation, but it’s a season.
  2. Money isn’t everything. Even though I budget (see my previous blog post), I still worry about making ends meet. I am constantly counting hours I work in a week, just to make sure I can make ends meet. I can’t worry about that. If I am using my time wisely at work, budgeting and properly using the money that I’ve been blessed with, I have faith that everything will work itself out.
  3. I need to keep my options open. In the past three or four years, I have transitioned from a fairly Type-B person to a Type-A person. It’s not a bad thing, but it holds me back from desiring any change. I worry about change…but I want to be open to it. I feel safe in Bozeman, but I also feel stuck. I see a move in my future, not sure when or where (hopefully the PNW!), but I have to keep my options open, pray about it, and trust that the change will be good.
    Change is good for everyone. It helps you learn new things about yourself, makes you get out and meet new people, and learn about a new place. If you know me well, you know that I talk a lot about networking. I think that networking is the BEST way to find anything. I got my job at Parks and Recreation because of networking, I am currently using my connections in the ski world to seek out job opportunities in the PNW, and I have gotten a lot of dog-sitting gigs through networking and meeting new people. Basically, I’m just telling you to get out there and show off your talents. We all have a purpose and a special set of skills that we have been blessed with that need to be used.
  4. I need to make time for loved ones. It is SO important to not get wrapped up in the busyness of this world. I previously blogged on the idea of creating margin in your life (see my post on margin). Spend time with people that you want to invest time into. For me, that’s my family, my roommate and her boyfriend, my boyfriend, and a few super rad gal friends! I know these people feed into my life in so many awesome ways. They listen to me, laugh with me, tell me things that are hard to hear, and are always ready to adventure with me. Making time for these people is not hard, because they mean the world to me.

All of these things that I have expressed to you have not come purely from me sitting in my own thoughts…or even entirely through discussing it with other people. I also have prayed a lot about it. I know I have a firm foundation in a Savior that will never let me go when I fail or make a wrong turn, I just need to keep my ears open to hear from Him and what He desires for me. In my current state, I must “lean into my season.” I am praying that I can walk out the door each day with a smile on my face, happy to be here, in the place that God has put me. Please also check out this link (‘Tis the Season). I hope it speaks to you as much as it spoke to me!

Final thoughts: as the renowned Eddard Stark puts it, “Winter is coming.” Soon, winter will be here. A new season. And new things to look forward to.

Thanks for reading, friends. Love you all and I hope that you’ll be blessed in whatever season of your life that you are in!

-M

2 thoughts on ““Winter is coming.”

Leave a Reply

