margin: (noun) an amount of something so as to be sure of success or safety

Friends!

Holy smokes has it been a while since I last posted. Almost three months have flown by since “gettin’ funky” was posted. I’m super sorry for not keeping you up to date. Sometimes life catches up and comes at you really fast, with more than you think you can handle. Fortunately, I made it to the other side and found myself with a free couple hours on this sunny Monday afternoon, to jump back into “this epoch” and treat you with another blog post.

Today’s post is on the busy life that 20 something year olds deal with pretty regularly. I’ve had the opportunity to discuss this with many friends in the past couple of months. It seems to be a constant subject that comes up. I have many thoughts/opinions on the idea of having to work so hard as a 26 year old, in order to make it by.

As many of my readers know, Bozeman has become a ridiculously expensive place to live. Cost of living is so high, not only for renters, but even for people looking to purchase a home. Through all my conversations and personal time analyzing this thought, I have come to realize that we have to come to terms with the high cost of living, if we want to continue living in the beautiful city of Bozeman. Bozeman is a mecca of every outdoor activity you can imagine…and it comes with a price.

Next problem…we all have to work non-stop, in order to get by. Not only with the cost of living being so high, we also need to pay our bills, gas, energy, internet, food, and try to have enough money left over to enjoy a good beer or dinner out with friends OR (God help us), go on a vacation. Thank goodness I have parents that trained me to budget. I can survive with my current income, but have three (and a half) jobs to make sure I get by. Now I don’t want to get off onto the rabbit trail of money, but I want to jump into the idea of how we have to work when we are young and energetic 20 somethings, that just want to go adventure! I have a lot of respect for those people out there that can “van life” it and get by, but that’s not in the cards for a lot of us. Most of us have to work between 40-50 hours per week. I’m going to cut to the chase and not ramble on much longer, but wouldn’t it be AMAZING if we could start with retirement first, then work at 50 or 60 when we are starting to get older and aren’t as young and made of rubber like we are in our 20 somethings? But, I’ve since come to terms that working and taking the time now to create a savings/retirement fund, is going to come in handy when I decide to one day retire and adventure the world (I sure hope that happens!).

So…now that I have gone on and on (and maybe lost half of you), I want to write about what I actually came on here to write about. Being busy.

Being busy is totally a state of mind and can sometimes be the easiest excuse to get out of doing something. I can say I have definitely made that excuse in the past three months. I don’t think I’ve ever experienced busy like last week though: moved (because our rent went up in the other place…thanks Bozeman), started a new job (making that three and a half jobs) that has me working in the evenings, and tried to create space to socialize. The last one was a complete failure, which is the worst. I have a lot of priorities in my life: my family, my faith, my relationship, my friends, my jobs, staying active, and relaxing. These are a lot of priorities, but I’m sure many of y’all have similar priorities to my list. I have found that I must create margin in my life, in order to cover all my bases and feel at peace. There are so many things to stress over in life, but in reality, we were blessed with 24 hours in a day to work, sleep, and be with other people. That’s a lot of time in a day! By creating margin, we have time to think. Time to relax. And time to enjoy life. For me, this means setting aside all of my evenings off to be with my friends or boyfriend. These relationships mean everything to me. My Sundays are my day’s off from work to go to church and be with people or catch up on something I didn’t do the week before. I like to have at least one hour a day set aside to do something active like run, go to the gym, or even just walk around the block and listen to music. I have recently (as in today!) found that I have some time in a couple afternoons a week, to do something for myself. It’s okay to be a little selfish…so today, I bought myself a coffee, sat down to jam to my new Discover Weekly and write a blog post on margin and creating space.

People also need time off. Create space to vacation, even if it’s a weekend trip. So often we worry about time and money. First off, pencil in a tentative vacation time. For me, that’s typically in the spring when things start to slow down. Then, start saving a couple $100 per month to set aside for a vacation fund. And don’t touch that money! I guarantee that it works.

Alright friends, thanks for making it through this blog post! I hope I spoke some sort of knowledge into someone’s life. I will be the first to say that margin is a very hard thing for me to grasp (first off because I feed off of being busy), but being at peace in life and feeling fulfilled is much more important to me than feeling like I need to be on a constant schedule of busyness.

Love y’all! Super stoked to continue writing to everyone as we jump into this fall season. It’s just around the corner, so create some margin to get outside and enjoy the warm sun these next couple weeks!

-M

definition of margin: google.com
featured image: Jonny Durst

3 thoughts on “margin: (noun) an amount of something so as to be sure of success or safety

Leave a Reply

