flora for your cake

What’s up, ladies and gents?

Did y’all have a good weekend? Not sure about all of my other readers…but Bozeman has been rather rainy the past couple days. My first thoughts, “are you kidding me? 75 degrees to this junk show?!” Then I remembered the old saying that everyone knows, “April flowers, brings May flowers” and had to suck it up. Honestly, it’s been pretty gosh darn lovely out! The rain is starting to turn lawns green, the trees are blossoming (check out my Instagram…@michelle.e.potts, for a shot from my parent’s front yard!), and it gives me an excuse to drink ten times more tea and read my book. If you’re at all interested, I am currently reading In the Heart of the Sea, by Nathaniel Philbrick. Super great book, recently made it to a movie (staring the one and only, Chris Hemsworth…cue the heart eyes!). Side note: look forward to future blog posts on some great reads.

Another thing that happens when it’s raining/when you don’t have a full-time job, you get A LOT of baking and cooking in. Before I continue into this blog post, I want to apologize. I am sorry that this is my THIRD blog post on food. To give you a little view into my blog post page (the side I see), I have two drafts of two other things to talk about, which I am trying to perfect. But, to keep you reading and remembering that I’ve actually started a blog, I am going to write about more food. This time I’ll write about my second favorite meal (first being breakfast): dessert! Now, if y’all know me…you’ll know I like to “rabbit trail,” meaning my mind goes in a million different directions and moves at about a million miles a minute. Here’s my rabbit trail, and something that will help you spell dessert, in the future. I don’t know about you, but I am a spelling and grammar freak. Example: your vs. you’re; their vs. there vs. they’re; then vs. than; dessert vs. desert.
Dessert: a tasty food
Desert: a sandy place
The way to help you remember how to spell the two: “Michelle would like two helpings of DESSERT, not two helpings of DESERT.” As you can see, two s’s in dessert. Voila!

Okay. Here goes the ACTUAL post:

Today’s recipe and new delicious food to make is Lavender Lemon Cake. Can I hear an AMEN?! So good. Just reading it makes my mouth water. I found the recipe on Pinterest about a year ago. I recently hopped back on Pinterest (best idea!) and found this recipe in the depths of one of my food boards. I decided last Monday night to bake. I ended up making an almond poppy seed bread, overnight latte oats, and two loaves of the Lavender Lemon Cake. One stayed with Sarah and me and the other went to a dinner with my parents and grandparents the other night.

Here are the ingredients you will need for the cake (and before baking/buying ingredients, please read my opinion located below):

IMG_0212

1 cup unsalted butter–room temperature
2 cups sugar
3 cups flour
4 large eggs
1 cup buttermilk
½ tsp salt
½ tsp baking soda
1 Tbs lemon zest
juice of 1 large lemon
1 generous tsp dried lavender buds
Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time fully incorporating after each addition. Stop and scrape down the sides with a spatula and resume beating until the mixture looks like buttercream frosting. Meanwhile…in a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, salt and baking soda.Combine the lemon zest, lemon juice and buttermilk together. With the mixer on low, alternately mix in the flour and buttermilk, beginning and ending with the flour, in 3 additions. Do not over-mix, just allow the ingredients to come together. Stir in the lavender. Pour into 2 loaf pans that have been coated in pan spray. Bake at 325 F for approximately 50 mins. Check for doneness after 40 minutes. Cake is fully baked when a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.When cool, pour glaze over.
Glaze
1 cup powdered sugar
1 Tbs cream
Juice of lemon (more or less to your taste)

Stir together and pour over cooled cake.

(Thank you to http://fudgeripple.blogspot.com/ for this recipe!)

IMG_0200
Alright. Here’s my opinion. THIS CAKE WAS SO DELICIOUS! It’s very pound cake like. I didn’t realize that it was going to make two, until I had all of the batter mixed and the instructions told me to put it into two loaf pans. I am one of those people that typically doesn’t read the recipe through completely. I read it bit by bit and mix as it tells me. I don’t know how you do it, but I would recommend (and will try to do this), reading the recipe through once, just to be sure you know what you’re getting yourself into. Thank goodness I had a little dinner party to go to, or Sarah and I probably would have eaten one loaf a piece in a matter of a week. Thanks Grandpa and Grandma for coming to town!
I agree with all of the ingredients in the cake. I prefer a lot more flavor in my cake than requested in the recipe. Rather than putting in a generous teaspoon of lavender, I did a hefty 1.5 to 2 teaspoons of lavender. The buds are rather expensive ($44 at The Coop for a pound), but thank goodness I only need a little bit. I spent a whopping $.48 on lavender! Lavender is an interesting thing to put in a recipe. You don’t think about putting a flower in food. Typically flowers (like roses), will be used in a tea. But lavender has a very light, almost fruity taste when put in food. It also made the cake smell amazing!
Side note: I have a dried lavender plant in my room from a wedding a couple years ago (seen in the photos), that Sarah at first thought I was using in the cake. NO WAY! So dusty….gross. No worries though. I bought fresh lavender. 
Anyways, I also like a lot of lemon flavor. I used an entire lemon for the rind, plus that lemon and about another half of one for the cake flavoring and the frosting. I think the extra flavor helped in the cake! Honestly, you can’t put too much lemon in a cake.
The cake was great plain. At my parent’s house, we put homemade whipped cream and fresh raspberries (from last year’s crop!) on top. SO FREAKIN GOOD!
My only complaint (and it was all my fault): the cake needs to be either eaten within a couple days of baking, or you need to freeze it. I should have frozen the loaf that I took to my parent’s house, because it was a tad dry. Not horribly dry, but drier than the loaf Sarah and I had been snacking on at home. Luckily the whipped cream and raspberries added some good moisture to the cake. Also, when you freeze the cake, it’s a good surprise when you find it a month later in the freezer. It will last that long! Don’t you worry.
Alright. Time to sign off. Dinner with mom and dad tonight at Bridger Brewing (this is my fourth meal in a row with them…spoiled, right?!). This blog post had absolutely nothing to do with the five year plan. But you now have a peek into my super dooper exciting life and know what I do on a rainy day. Read, drink tea, and bake. Sweet.
Thanks again for humoring my thoughts, figuring out my rabbit trails, and following my blog (that’s a hint…you won’t regret it!).
Cheers friends,
-M
One thought on “flora for your cake

Leave a Reply

