blt – risotto style!

Hey friends!

Hope y’all had a great week! I had a fairly decent one…packed with the usual work, exercise, groceries, laundry, and a little bit of fun mixed in.

So I know my previous post was on food (The Whole30), but I’m going to do another food post. I know that everyone can use more easy, delicious recipes! This week, I made a risotto dish. My goal was to make something that would last me for multiple dinners throughout the remainder of the week. I made this meal on Wednesday evening and I still have at least two or three more decent sized meals! And on the plus side, it only cost me twenty five-ish dollars to buy all of the ingredients!

FullSizeRender (1)

I found a basic idea for the recipe on Pinterest (included bacon, tomato, arugula, and risotto), but added my own vegetable sides.

Here are the ingredients you will need to make a hefty amount of delicousness:

2 Boxes Risotto (5.5 oz.) – the cream parmesan flavor is great!
2 Roma Tomatoes
1 Box or Bag of Arugula (you pick the amount!)
8-10 Medium Sized Mushrooms
1 Stalk of Broccoli
1 Red Pepper
1/2 an Avocado
8 Strips of Bacon
Parmesan Cheese for the top
Olive Oil
Miscellaneous Spices

Follow the directions on the box to cook the Risotto. It’s real easy! Chop up everything (tomatoes, mushrooms, broccoli, red pepper, avocado..optional, and bacon) into bite size pieces, except for the arugula.
The easiest thing to start with is the bacon.

FullSizeRender (2)

After the bacon begins to crisp up, put the mushrooms, broccoli, and red pepper into a pan with a couple teaspoons of olive oil. Saute the vegetables until soft. By this time, the Risotto and bacon should be good to go! Place the cooked Risotto on a plate and add the toppings as you see fit. My favorite order of food was the Risotto, arugula, sauteed vegetables, tomatoes, bacon, with parmesan on top. Avocado can be sliced for the side or added to the top. Then…dig in!

IMG_0174

I originally did not add red pepper to the recipe (mainly because I forgot it at the grocery store), but I know it would add a lot to the flavor! I also added a couple of miscellaneous spices (lemon pepper, etc). My biggest mistake was not making enough sauteed vegetables and bacon, but that’s an easy fix when you want to eat it later.

Now…this meal would not work for the Whole30 (see my comments about the Whole30 cleanse in my previous post, “I’m eating lunch…so let’s talk food.”), but it is still healthy and full of delicious foods…especially the bacon!

Enjoy the meal and let me know if you think of anything even better to add to this BLT Risotto! I promise that the next post will be something involving more five year plan information…but for now, isn’t a meal that will last you more than one night a good option to save money? Following your food budget is important!

Cheers!

-M

One thought on “blt – risotto style!

Leave a Reply

